# Managing Environment Access

WHO CAN USE THIS FEATURE?

This guide is applicable to accounts with the Environments feature enabled.

To perform the tasks in this guide, you'll need the following in your main workspace (DEV):

We've set up collaborator roles to be shared, ensuring that role-based access control is maintained and consistent across your Workato environments.

In this guide, we'll cover:


# Managing Collaborator Roles

Collaborator roles are managed in the main environment (DEV) and are enforced across all environments. To prevent duplicating roles, you can assign collaborators a different role for each environment. This ensures that you can define granular privileges that are appropriate for the nature of the environment.

For example:

  • In the main environment (DEV), a collaborator may need Admin privileges to build their recipes.
  • In the TEST environment, the collaborator only needs to test and run their recipe. This can be done with the Operator role.
  • In the PROD environment, the collaborator only needs to run their recipe. This can be done with the Operator role.

Here's how this example would look in Workato:

Assigning different roles for each Workato environment

If a role needs to be updated or deleted, you'll do so in the main environment (DEV). The Team management page is only available in this environment.


# Granting Environment Access

Assigning a role for an environment to a collaborator also grants them access to the environment.

To grant access to an environment for a collaborator:

1

In the main environment (DEV) of your Workato account, navigate to Team management > Collaborators (opens new window).

2

Click on the collaborator you want to modify. This will open the Edit collaborator page.

3

Locate the environment you want to grant access to. For example: TEST

4

In the Role menu below the environment, select the collaborator's role for that environment. To prevent or remove access to the environment, select No access.

5

Click Update.


# Revoking Environment Access

To revoke access to an environment for a collaborator:

1

In the main environment (DEV) of your Workato account, navigate to Team management > Collaborators (opens new window).

2

Click on the collaborator you want to modify. This will open the Edit collaborator page.

3

Locate the environment you want to revoke access from. For example: TEST

4

In the Role menu below the environment, select No access.

5

Click Update.


# Resources