# Collaborator roles

Collaborator roles control team access to Workato features, functions, and folders of Role-based access control.

Here, we cover the following topics:

To find out about the privileges collaborators can have, see Collaborator privileges.

Have Environment Setup?

Find out how Environment works with Team roles.


# System roles

Workato pre-defines system roles so you can easily assign them to team collaborators, based on the access each user requires.

Workato has four system roles: Team owner, Admin, Analyst, and Operator.

You cannot edit these roles directly. However, you can clone each role, and then modify it.

To view the privileges of a system role, a Team Admin can select a role in the Roles tab. This opens a read-only version of the role.

# Team owner

The Team Owner role is the most permissive system role. It owns the root login (username/password) for the account and includes full access to all settings for the account.

All Admin role privileges
All privileges included in the Admin role.
Full Account Settings access
Access to all account settings.

# Admin

Typically granted to users managing the Workato workspace, Admins have nearly equivalent privileges to the Team Owner. Aside from the Team Owner, this is the most permissive system role.

Full project access
All project permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full folder access
All folder permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full connection access
All connection permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full recipe access
All recipe permissions: View, edit, create, delete, run, and view job history.
Full access network trace
View network traces in job histories. Includes recipe input, output, and the network trace of HTTP calls. HTTP call information includes HTTP headers, requests, and communication (responses) between Workato and the end application.
All projects
Access to all projects in a workspace.
Full access
Full access
Access to the API Platform, including dashboard and logs, collections and endpoints, clients and access profiles, policies, and settings.
Full Common data model access
All Common data model permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full Custom OAuth Profile access
All Custom OAuth Profile permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full FileStorage UI access
All FileStorage UI permissions: View and create.
Full Lookup table access
Access to the Lookup tables feature.
Full Message template access
All Message template permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full On-prem groups access
Access all on-prem groups and agents in the workspace.
Full People task access
Access to the People task tool.
Full Properties access
Access to all Environment Properties in the workspace.
Full Event streams access
All Event streams permissions: View, edit, create, and delete topics.
Full Recipe lifecycle management access
Access to the Recipe lifecycle management feature.
Full Workbot access
All Workbot permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full Runtime user connection access
All Runtime user connection permissions: View and edit.
Full Logs access
Access to the Workato Log Service feature.
Full Connector SDK access
All Connector SDK permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full Collaborator access
Manage the team collaborators in the workspace, including adding, editing, and removing collaborators.
Full Custom collaborator roles access
View, edit, create, and delete custom team roles in the workspace.
Full Collaborator SAML SSO access
View and edit SAML SSO settings for the workspace.
Full API client access
View and edit API Clients for the workspace.
Full activity audit
Access to view team activity in the Dashboard's Activity audit log. This permission grants the user the ability to view all activity logs, regardless of other access settings.
Full key management
Access to the account's Key Management System (KMS). Users with this privilege can update key policies and encryption keys.
Full Test Automation
All Test Automation permissions: view and manage test case details.
Full Workflow apps access
All Workflow apps permissions: create, edit, and delete Workflow apps, and manage settings for Workflow apps.
Full Workflow apps portal access
All Workflow apps portal permissions: configure Workflow apps portal settings and manage users and groups.

# Analyst

Analysts are typically users who build and test recipes or custom connectors.

Full project access
All project permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full folder access
All folder permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full connection access
All connection permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full recipe access
All recipe permissions: View, edit, create, delete, run, and view job history.
All projects
Access to all projects in a workspace.
Full access
Access to the API Platform, including dashboard and logs, collections and endpoints, clients and access profiles, policies, and settings.
Full Common data model access
All Common data model permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full Custom OAuth Profile access
All Custom OAuth Profile permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full FileStorage UI access
All FileStorage UI permissions: View and create.
Full Lookup table access
Access to the Lookup tables feature.
Full Message template access
All Message template permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full On-prem groups access
Access all on-prem groups and agents in the workspace.
Full People task access
Access to the People task tool.
Full Event streams access
All Event streams permissions: View, edit, create, and delete topics.
Full Workbot access
All Workbot permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full Runtime user connection access
All Runtime user connection permissions: View and edit.
Full Connector SDK access
All Connector SDK permissions: View, edit, create, and delete.
Full Test Automation
All Test Automation permissions: view and manage test case details.
Full Workflow apps access
All Workflow apps permissions: create, edit, and delete Workflow apps, and manage settings for Workflow apps.
Full Workflow apps portal access
All Workflow apps portal permissions: configure Workflow apps portal settings and manage users and groups.

# Operator

Operators are users who focus on maintaining and validating existing recipes. This is the least permissive system role.

This role includes read-only access to All folders and All projects.

View projects
View specific projects in a workspace.
View folders
View folders and sub-folders in a workspace.
View recipes
View recipes in a workspace.
Test (start/stop) recipes
Run recipes and start and stop recipe tests in a workspace.
View recipe job history
View a recipe's job history in the Jobs tab.
All projects
Access to all projects in a workspace.

Additionally, this role includes read-only access to the Test Automation feature.

View Test Automation
View test cases, including mock data and checks in the Test Automation feature.

# Custom roles

CUSTOM ROLES IS AN ADD-ON

Custom roles is available as an add-on. Contact your Customer Success Manager for more information.

Workato also supports custom roles, enabling you to assign granular privileges to team collaborators.

For example: Development, QA, and Production teams are working in the same account. As part of the Recipe development lifecycle, you can create and assign roles with specific privileges to each team.

Refer to the Role-based access guide to learn how to create a custom role.


Last updated: 2/16/2024, 10:21:35 PM