# Runtime User Connections

By default, recipes perform actions based on the identity and permissions of the user who connects the application. Using Runtime user connections, users can use their own credentials when running a recipe, even if they didn't create the original application connection.

In this guide, we'll cover:


# Basics

# How do runtime user connections work?

When enabled, the Runtime user connections feature allows users to authenticate themselves when a recipe runs, allowing the recipe to execute actions using their own credentials.

For example: We have a recipe that uses Workbot to create opportunities in Salesforce. Here's what the execution would look like with and without runtime user connections:

With runtime user connections Without runtime user connections
  1. User A invokes the recipe using the Workbot command
  2. Workbot prompts User A to use their own Salesforce credentials
  3. Workbot authenticates to Salesforce with User A's credentials
  4. Workbot creates opportunities credited to User A
  1. User A invokes the recipe using the Workbot command
  2. Workbot authenticates to Salesforce with the default user in the recipe (User B)
  3. Workbot creates opportunities credited to User B

Once created, these connections persist. This means that users don't have to provide their credentials every time they run a recipe. Additionally, these connections can't be used in other recipes like normal connections.

# What are parent connections?

When users create connections at runtime, they're associated with a parent connection.

For example: A user runs a reipce with a Salesforce connection. When a user authenticates themselves to Salesforce, Connection B is created and is associated with the recipe's default Salesforce connection (Connection A) as its parent.

# Who can use runtime user connections?

While this feature is available to all plans and account types (including OEM), users need the following privileges to enable or disable the setting for recipes:

  • Edit recipes
  • View Runtime user connections
  • Edit Runtime user connections

# Where can I use runtime user connections?

The Runtime user connections feature is available in:


# Enabling And Disabling Runtime User Connections

Runtime user connections can be used in:


# Managing Runtime User Connections

Runtime user connections can be managed:

# Managing All Runtime User Connections In-App

WHO CAN VIEW THIS PAGE?

Users must have the View Verified user access at runtime privilege to access this page.

Manage runtime user connections by navigating to Tools > Runtime user connections. This page lists all connections created as a result of users authenticating themselves at runtime.

# Deleting Connections

WHO CAN DELETE CONNECTIONS?

Users must have the Delete connections privilege to delete connections.

To delete a connection, click the Delete link next to the connection.

Before deleting a connection, note that:

  • Deleting a parent connection will cause any recipes using the connection to stop. Child connections - those created by users at runtime - won't be deleted.

  • Deleting a child connection will require the user to re-authenticate themselves the next time the recipe is run. Successful re-authentication must occur before any actions can be performed on their behalf.

# Managing Your Runtime User Connections Using Workbot

If using Workbot, you can:

# Viewing Your Runtime User Connections

If using Workbot, you can view your own runtime user connections in a DM or in channels where Workbot is a member.

# In A DM

In a DM to Workbot, do the following to view your own runtime user connections:

  • Send connections
  • Send help and then click the Personal accounts button: Viewing personal connections in a Workbot DM Viewing runtime user connections in a Workbot DM
# In A Channel

In channels where Workbot is a member, send @Workbot connections or @Workbot help to view your own runtime user connections.

# Disconnecting Your Runtime User Connections

You can disconnect your own runtime user connections by viewing your own connections and clicking Disconnect:

Disconnecting runtime user connections Disconnecting a runtime user connection